This Blog Now Supports Comments
Just posting this to test the function provided by Utterances.

It has been almost 2 months since I started this blog. I highly doubt if there were any visitors other than myself. But since I do not like the idea of adding tracking functions (I hated doing that from my daily job), there is no way for me to know. Or maybe there is: you can now add comments to the posts! Commenting is provided by Utterances, which is listed among the supported 3rd party services for the theme this blog uses. Please refer to those two links for a guide.

Basically I created this repo on GitHub, and authorized Utterances to use it as the database for comments. It has to be GitHub, because Utterances doesn’t work for other platforms (yet). Thanks to GitHub’s openness for allowing such a creative abuse. But now you’ll need a GitHub account to post comments to this blog hosted on GitLab. Considering the fact that Microsoft owns GitHub, while GitLab relies on Google Cloud Platform, it really is amazing how much of our online existences is being controlled by these giants.

Luckily the comment service isn’t Disqus, otherwise you would be able to comment using a Facebook account (or, is it called a Meta account now?). This post is categorized as Meta be cause I am writing a blog to talk about the blog. I hope Meta the company won’t ruin this word.


Last modified on 2021-11-05